Second Majors & Minors


Second Majors

​​​School of Social Sciences (SSS) began offering the Second Major programme in 2005. A Second Major provides students with breadth of exposure in their chosen subject. Students can choose to pursue a Second Major in another discipline offered by SSS, or one offered by another School within the College of Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences (HASS). 

Students will graduate with a B.A. Honours degree in their first Major upon satisfying the academic requirements of the School. The Second Major will be shown on the final transcript, and students will receive an additional certificate. 

For more information on Second Majors, click here​.

Subject Minors
Students in NTU have the opportunity to not only complement their major concentration, but also explore subjects of interest outside their area of specialisation. 

To Minor in any of the programmes in SSS, students must complete at least five (5) courses, which include compulsory and elective courses.
Minors offered in SSS:
Minor in Economics
Minor in Environmental and Urban Studies
Minor in Public Policy and Global Affairs
Minor in Sociology

Interdisciplinary Minors with SSS courses:
Minor in Film Studies
Minor in Global Asia

For more information on Subject Minors, contact us at